ASCRS Foundation Chang Humanitarian Award

Cataract surgery is one of the most widespread, technologically advanced, cost-effective, and impactful surgeries in all of medicine. Restoring sight to so many appreciative cataract patients is one of ophthalmology’s most gratifying privileges. The tragic irony within our profession is that the leading cause of global blindness continues to be cataracts, because of limited access to surgery in so many resource-poor societies.

- David F. Chang, MD. 

A core mission of the ASCRS Foundation is to advance efforts to alleviate the worldwide backlog of cataract blindness and disability. These efforts extend not only internationally, but within the United States as well. It is exciting that so many individuals in ophthalmology volunteer their time, expertise, and financial support to prevent and treat blindness among those in need. 

Endowed by a generous gift from David & Victoria Chang, the ASCRS Foundation Chang Humanitarian Award has been established to honor and recognize outstanding humanitarian work in the area of cataract blindness. The award is given annually to an individual for their inspirational accomplishments in U.S. or international charitable eye care, which is focused on or includes cataract blindness. The recipient is awarded each year at the ASCRS Annual Meeting, and a $50,000 prize will be granted in their honor to a charitable ophthalmology organization of their choice.

Anyone can submit a nomination. Before you complete your nomination form, please read the following information on eligibility, priority, and timeline. If you have any questions, or would like to know if your nominee has already been nominated, please contact Julia Donaldson at 


Previous Recipients

2019- Richard L. Litwin, MD 

2018- Alan Crandall, MD


2019 Nominating Committee

David Chang, MD

Alan Crandall, MD

Suzanne Gilbert, PhD, MPH

Adrienne Graves, PhD

Ann Kelman

Stephen Lane, MD

Susan MacDonald, MD

Jim Mazzo



1. The nominee must have made substantial contributions to charitable eye care, either internationally or within the United States

2. The nominee must not have been a previous recipient of this award, or a member of the nominating committee (2018 Recipient: Alan Crandall, MD, 2019 Recipient: Richard Litwin, MD)

3. Self-nominations are not accepted

Priority consideration will be given to individuals doing work in the developing world.



July 15, 2019 - Nomination process is open

September 15, 2019 - Nomination process closes

October 2019 - Nominating Committee & ASCRS Foundation Board selects recipient

January 2020 - Award recipient announcement

May 2020 - Award given at ASCRS Annual Meeting