Congratulations to the 2017 Research Grant Winners

Because of donors like you, the ASCRS Foundation has awarded more than $750,000 in research grants to fund studies and new treatment options. Together, we can foster innovation in all areas of eye disease and treatment. We believe the ASCRS Foundation’s Research Grant program is a fitting way to carry-on the spirit of the young, enterprising ophthalmologists who founded ASCRS.

Here is the list of the 2017 awardees and their winning studies:

  • Pejman Bakhtiary, MD - "Medically Reversible Limbal Stem Cell Dysfunction: Clinical Characteristics and Efficacy of Medical Treatment"
  • Jihad Isteitiya, MD - "Randomized Clinical Trial of CXL for Corneal Ulcers"
  • Lauren Jeang, MD - "Collagen Cross-Linking with Riboflavin in Collagen XII and XIV Deficient Mice"
  • Kyle Kovacs, MD - "Choroidal Vascular Findings on Wide-Field Indocyanine Green Angiography Associated with Ocular and Systemic Disease"
  • Michael Lin, MD - "Quality Outcomes Review of Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery"
  • Katy Liu, MD, PhD - "A Model of the Distal Outflow Tract in Living Mice"
  • Jack Parker, MD - "Manual vs. Femtosecond Preparation of Bowman Layers Grafts"
  • Gavin Roddy, MD - "Stanniocalcin-1 for Intraocular Pressure Reduction"
  • Leejee Suh, MD - "Corneal Ectasia in the Pediatric Allergy Population"
  • Aaron Wang, MD - "The Design and Validation of a New DMEK Device to Optimize Outcomes"
  • Blog categories: