Resident Excellence Award Nominations Due Next Week

Don’t miss your chance to be one of the ten award winners of the ASCRS Foundation’s $1,000 Resident Excellence Awards which enable ophthalmology residents exhibiting exemplary performance to attend the 2019 ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting in San Diego, California. The categories for consideration include research, patient care, leadership and education. Candidates must be in year 2-3 of residency, or an active fellow, and must be nominated by their program director.

 For past Resident Excellence winner Ramunas Rolius, MD, the ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting was a time to learn the newest developments and technology to  take back to his program.

 “In my field this is the most important meeting I can attend. It’s the first time that I’ve been able to take part, and I am very excited about it.”

 When asked what advice he would give to Resident Excellence Award winners, Dr. Rolius had this to say: 

 “Be very clear on what your goals and priorities are for the meeting, and plan out your schedule accordingly before arriving. Have a discussion with your faculty and ask for their suggestions. Be mindful that it is also important to share your experience, and bring back what you have learned to your department.”


The 2019 Resident Excellence Award includes:

 •A $1,000 grant to fund travel to the Annual Meeting, May 3–7, 2019

•Complimentary 2019 Annual Meeting registration

•Four nights complimentary accommodation at a San Diego hotel

•Invitations to select ASCRS leadership and social events

The deadline for the 2019 Resident Excellence Award is Wednesday, January 9, 2019. Nominations for the award can be made here.


Blog categories: